Yum: I just received a list of Best Free Reference Web Sites 2009 from the Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association (and these people are picky about their sites).  I’ll highlight some of the interesting ones in the blog, with thanks to Jess Weitz for calling my attention to the list.

apples

With winter squash and potatoes and fall greens appearing at the farmers’ markets, it’s a nice time to visit www.localharvest.org.  The site is (sorry,  I have to use the cliche) a cornucopia of information for all who value small farms and good, local food.  Among other things, you can search by zip code to find farmers’ markets, CSAs, grocery stores, and restaurants that feature local products.  It’s beautifully designed and fun to use, and I think it would be especially helpful for travelers who want to know where to eat when they get to their destination.

